May Word from the Chairman

Turner_Annie-Chairmans-photo-PROne of the North SA Chamber’s strategic goals for 2014 is to meet the needs of the business community with a readied workforce. Thus, we are focused on engaging millennial workers by building a bridge between education and the workforce.

So many business owners and organizations are looking for qualified people. Thousands of baby boomers are retiring from the workforce each day, and we’re facing an enormous leadership gap. The North SA Chamber can help veterans, millennial workers and just about every professional in any interest area to access resources to sharpen their professional skills and build relationships through our various instructional and networking events and volunteer opportunities.

Announcing College Student Memberships
Through the generosity of a grant by State Farm, the North San Antonio Chamber of Commerce announces the addition of college student membership to its community offerings, and the first ten student members will be selected through the UTSA College of Business.

The college student membership is $75 per student and is a two-year, non-renewing membership. Students must be 18 years or older, enrolled in a four-year university or college, and enrolled in their senior year of coursework. Through membership with the North SA Chamber, college students will be afforded the opportunity to: meet professional members, get involved in committees, learn about community initiatives, share information, gain personal visibility and develop personal, professional and leadership skills through their involvement. Additionally, student members will be promoted through the Chamber’s online membership directory under the categories of “Student” and “Job Seeker.”

Member Jake Jacobson, Sales Leader of the West Sales Territory for State Farm, came to the North SA Chamber seeking ways to increase the insurance company’s involvement. State Farm recognized that getting college students involved in real-world interaction with the business community is a practical way to support emerging leaders and help grow the local talent pool. Jacobson, who serves in an advisory capacity to UTSA’s College of Business, will work with the school’s Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, Dr. Lisa Montoya, to review eligible students and name the grantees. The 10 student members will be identified and their memberships activated by August 1. State Farm will name five local agents who each will mentor two college students through their early months of membership with the North SA Chamber

It is my hope that your organization will consider doing the same. Businesses interested in sponsoring college student members, or students interested in joining individually may learn more by visiting, clicking on the Join Now tab or calling (210) 344-4848.

Training Online Shop, Job Bank
The North SA Chamber strives to meet the needs of businesses for a readied workforce and ongoing professional development. We know you’re looking for quality continuing education for your team and qualified applicants.

The North SA Chamber is now offering a comprehensive Training Online Shop featuring thousands of courses covering a range of subjects from human resources and safety to business and sales. I invite you to explore the online training catalog. There are a number of low-cost training options to assist small businesses in accessing affordable, essential training. Many courses are available for less than $20!

Moreover, at no additional cost – member businesses may post job openings to the online Job Bank, and the online search tool is a free community resource to job seekers. Click here for member login access and instructions for posting jobs.

Small Business Leaders Awards
We recently completed the call for nominations for the Small Business Leaders Awards (SBLA) program, and will present awards on Tuesday, July 22, at the Omni San Antonio Hotel Colonnade. New this year – we’ll be recognizing a Veteran-Owned business leader and a Non-Profit organization, as well as present awards in the following categories: Small Business Leader of the Year, Small Business Advocate of the Year, Career Achievement, Community Service, Business Achievement, Business Innovation, Employee Relations and New Business.

Congratulations to the 2014 Small Business Leaders Awards Finalists!

John Aramendia
Aramendia Plumbing Heating & Air

Mike Behrend, Chris Behrend, Paul Evans
Green Vegetarian Cuisine

Lisa Fullerton
A Novel Idea, LLC dba Auntie Anne’s Hand-Rolled Pretzels and dba Cinnabon

Bryan Guinn
Prism Technologies Group

Doug and Lori Horn
Dough Pizzeria Napoletana, LLC

Gregory Hudson
Genesis Concepts & Consultants

Melissa Killen
Network Alliance, LLC

Yadira Medina-Torres
Stepping Stone Pediatric Feeding and Speech Therapy Clinic

Bede Ramcharan

Manuel Gerardo Rubio
Miracle Body & Paint

Michele Renee Pauli Torres
HFS Company

Helen Trowsdale
AA Care Services

Jennifer Sample
Providence Place

Gloria Canseco
San Antonio Christian Dental Clinic

Jose Sandoval
SandTech Solutions

ATHENA Leadership Awards® Program
The North SA Chamber is an ATHENA International Founding Lifetime Member and the exclusive, local host organization – in partnership with the National ATHENA Foundation, for the presentation of the prestigious ATHENA Leadership Awards® Program which honors rising stars, seasoned professionals and model organizations with the ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award, ATHENA Leadership Award and ATHENA Organizational Leadership Award, respectively.

Nominations are solicited and an ATHENA sculpture is awarded to local leaders and a business/organization who meet specific criteria at the annual Enterprising Women’s Conference – this year scheduled for Friday, September 26. By honoring exceptional leaders, the ATHENA Leadership Awards® Program seeks to inspire others to achieve excellence in their professional and personal lives.

Please help us to recognize local leaders by nominating a deserving individual or organization and encourage him/her to submit a completed application by Friday, June 6. Download nomination forms here.